(navigation image)
Home Animation & Cartoons | Arts & Music | Community Video | Computers & Technology | Cultural & Academic Films | Ephemeral Films | Movies | News & Public Affairs | Prelinger Archives | Spirituality & Religion | Sports Videos | Television | Videogame Videos | Vlogs | Youth Media
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)

View movie

item imageitem imageitem imageitem image

View thumbnails
Run time: 87 min
[Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States]



Other MindsNew Music Seance 2008: Concert No. 3, Ruth Crawford and her Milieu (video) (December 6, 2008)

This movie is available in streaming format

something has gone horribly wrong 8-p
Prefer flash? · Embed · Questions/Feedback?

Summoning the specters of musical forbears, and channeling the spirits of their successors, the 2008 New Music Seance Concerts featured a marathon of performances by pianist Sarah Cahill, and the dynamic violin/piano duo of Kate Stenberg and Eva-Maria Zimmermann. The concerts were held in the intimate, candle lit setting of the historic Arts & Crafts styled Swedenborgian Church in San Francisco on December 6, 2008. The third concert, entitled “Ruth Crawford and Her Milieu” featured works by Alexander Scriabin and Dane Rudhyar, two composers who’s interest in the intersection between mysticism and music found resonance in Crawford’s own compositions. Also included are works by Henry Cowell, a close friend of Crawford, and someone who was instrumental in getting Crawford’s music before the public by publishing her music and encouraging her continued efforts. Other works include an arrangement for piano by Lou Harrison of one of his earlier compositions; several pieces by Johanna Beyer, who was a student of Crawford’s, as well a s a number of works by Crawford herself including her “Sonata for Violin & Piano”, a piece that was almost lost when Crawford destroyed her manuscript but was fortunately revived by Beyer in 1982 from a copy she had saved. For a complete description of all the pieces heard please check out the Program Guide which can be found at http://www.otherminds.org/shtml/Seance3program2.shtml

This project has been made possible by the National Endowment for the Arts as part of American Masterpieces: Three Centuries of Artistic Genius.

This movie is part of the collection: Other Minds Video Archive

Producer: Other Minds
Audio/Visual: sound, color
Keywords: Other Minds; New Music Seance; Music; 20th Century Classical; New Music

Creative Commons license: Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States

Be the first to write a review
Streamed 269 times